Posted in Uncategorized

Vacation is Calling

My summer vacation to Michigan is fast approaching, and I am so excited. I get three weeks at home, and I plan on relaxing, eating, drinking great beer, seeing what’s new on TV (don’t judge me) and immensely enjoying some face to face time with friends and family.

Have you ever had that time when vacation is getting closer and you’re feeling more and more excited about getting a break from your job that all of a sudden you kind of hate your work and can’t wait to get out? That was me about a week ago. I felt myself go into such a negative mood, my patience was basically nonexistent, and I’m sure that I was no peach to be around because even I hated where my mind was. I felt like I had exerted so much energy into trying to stay positive, that eventually for a few days I just gave up because it was exhausting. I knew that vacation would help clear my mind, revive my soul and patience, and it would help me not dread going into work every morning. But I was six weeks away from leaving! I desperately didn’t want to feel that way for such a long time.

Living here and living this life, you say a lot of goodbyes. Around Christmas time last year I said goodbye to quite a few friends who were making their way to new adventures and new countries, and I remember thinking, “I’m not really ready to move on just yet. I’m not ready to pick up and start a new adventure and leave Korea.”

Flash forward six months later, and I’m ready.

This past weekend my friend, Katie, left Korea for a two month vacation to do some traveling and visit home before starting her new job in China. As we saw her off at the airport, I was filled with happiness for her but also wishing that it was me in her shoes. I told Renee how I was feeling, and she agreed that she was in the same boat. But then we broke it down: we’re both going home for a few weeks, which will definitely be a great break that will revive our spirits. A month after that, my mom and her friend Cathy are coming to visit for the week of Chuseok, and then soon enough it will be Christmas vacation. A month later will be Lunar New Year, which some of us are traveling to Hong Kong for, and a month after that, at the end of February, we’ll be done with our contract! Once we leave Korea we’ll be doing some traveling, and at that point we’ll know which country we’ll be in for the next job.

With all of that laid out in front of me (thank you, Renee!), I felt a hell of a lot better. My mood was instantly lighter, making these next eight months not only seem better, but it also renewed the “let’s make this a great year” attitude I started with.

So, onward and upward! Where are you traveling for your vacation this year? Stay tuned for some travel tips in my next post about enduring those long flights.

Author:

I have circumnavigated the globe, I have lived overseas, and now I'm back in America about to marry my beautiful fiance, Renee. Follow our adventures in travel, getting healthier with Plexus and starting a brand new life.

2 thoughts on “Vacation is Calling

  1. Couldn’t agree more. Our vacation isn’t until August, but we’ve checked out a little at work. It’s hard to stay positive sometimes! I hope you have a great trip home! 🙂

    1. Thank you!! Yeah, I still have five more weeks, but it’s getting closer and closer! You guys are going to Thailand, right? Can’t wait to see pictures!

Leave a Reply

