Posted in Uncategorized

National Novel Writing Month: Week 4

2013-Winner-Facebook-Cover

Words to date: 50,021
Words to go: 0
Days to go: 0

Seeing as it is December 1st, NaNoWriMo has officially come to a close. I hit 50,000 words on Wednesday morning, and although I’m not totally done with the novel, the goal has been reached (thank you, thank you ::takes several dramatic bows::).

WHAT A COOL FRICKIN EXPERIENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Writing a novel in a month was great, and the NaNoWriMo website is full of awesomeness and encouragement. Several times each week I got pep talk emails from published authors talking about writing and giving participants encouraging words — all of which were supremely helpful. When I felt like crap about what I was writing, I found out that pretty much everyone else felt exactly the same way about their own novels. I was encouraged to let go and follow my thoughts and see where they lead, and I was told repeatedly to just sit down and write. Even if I wasn’t inspired, even if I looked for any reason to avoid it, I wouldn’t be sorry if I just did the work. And they were totally right.

“Inspiration isn’t what gets your book written. Discipline is.” Wise words from Malinda Lo in a pep talk that I continuously kept in mind throughout this month.

A recap of some things I have learned from 2013’s National Novel Writing Month:

1. Don’t edit
2. Have a routine and set a daily word goal
3. Get off the internet
4. Just keep going
5. Follow your thoughts
6. Take a break when you need it

A final thing to add to the list:

Have a writing group: If you participate in NaNoWriMo there are definitely other people around you who are doing the same thing. I’m all the way in South Korea, and there are many people all over the country doing this, including a group of people on the next island over. I met up with them only twice throughout November, but I found that I was really productive, encouraged and inspired during those times, and it was helpful and important to break my writing routine now and then. We have scheduled more get-togethers each month so we can keep up our writing, and I really see the importance of having this in a writer’s life.

So, congratulations to all of the NaNoWriMo winners, and to all of those who attempted!!!! Enjoy finishing your novels and the editing process, and I’ll see you again next November.

Author:

I have circumnavigated the globe, I have lived overseas, and now I'm back in America about to marry my beautiful fiance, Renee. Follow our adventures in travel, getting healthier with Plexus and starting a brand new life.

5 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month: Week 4

  1. CONGRATULATIONS to you for finishing! I also took part in NaNoWriMo, but alas, I wasn’t able to make it to the 50-thousand word finish line. Well done for your achievement ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yay yay yay!!! BIG CONGRATS!! It seems like just yesterday that you were saying how you weren’t sure if you’d make it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    So exciting, and such a great learning experience. So happy for you! Are you going to keep writing in the month of December? Have you actually finished the memoir or is there more to write?

    1. Lol, thank you!!! Congratulations to you as well!

      I haven’t finished yet, but I’m nearly there. I am still writing in December to finish it up, although I’ve taken a week break because I’ve been so damn busy. But writing resumes soon soon! Are you continuing to write as well?

Leave a Reply

