Posted in Uncategorized

Strawberry Jam Tradition

There are a handful of things in life that really scream home.  For me one of those things is homemade strawberry jam.  When my mother was growing up she would wake up early, crawl around in the sand and bugs to pick a few quarts of strawberries, then make jam with her mother all day.  My mom hated picking strawberries, so when I was growing up we would buy them from the local farm stand, and I would help her in the kitchen by either measuring and pouring the sugar, stirring the  jam or mashing the berries.

After living abroad and not having access to homemade jam, I spent the afternoon with my mother a few years back and learned the recipe.  This year I came home just in time for Michigan strawberry season, and I spent the day jamming out to the Allman Brothers on Pandora with my mom while we made two double batches of strawberry jam.  The results were delicious, and it was a great afternoon spent carrying out a much beloved tradition.

What traditions do you have in your family that you’ll carry on?

 

jam

Author:

I have circumnavigated the globe, I have lived overseas, and now I'm back in America about to marry my beautiful fiance, Renee. Follow our adventures in travel, getting healthier with Plexus and starting a brand new life.

5 thoughts on “Strawberry Jam Tradition

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a
    little bit, but other than that, this is great blog.
    A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

  2. Loved the Strawberry Jam Post.
    Just an editing thing…Mother and Mom are capitalized….they are subs for proper nouns, right? And your Mom is a really special Capitol Mom even on Father’s Day. Much love, Joan

    1. She is super special!!
      You would capitalize “mom” or “mother” if you are using that as their names. Like, “Mom, can you get me some cake?” But saying “my mom” or “her mother” you don’t capitalize because it is just being used as a noun. 🙂 Thanks, Joan!

Leave a Reply

