Posted in Uncategorized

Birchbox: Power-Up in July

Each month around the 10th I anxiously await my Birchbox subscription to arrive in the mail.  For $10 a month Birchbox will send you four to six samples of beauty products (anything from makeup to skin treatment to nail art, all customized for you based on the beauty profile you fill out), and for each item that you review on their website you get points, which add up to money to be spent on full sized items on their website.  Their blog, web page and magazine are all full of great ideas on how to stay healthy and have fun discovering new products and brands.

This month Birchbox teamed up with Women’s Health to give July a healthy boost. Included with this month’s samples is a booklet with twelve ideas on how to Power-Up your summer.  One way I have powered up is by sitting smarter (#5).  I went camping this past weekend, and when I found myself slouching on the wooden bench or hunching over while sitting on the ground I would consciously straighten my back and square off my shoulders.  Even as I’m typing this now I’m sitting on an exercise ball where I’m forced to sit up straight — a great swap out for a chair.  I also skipped looking in the mirror the whole weekend (#6), which was easy to do while camping for a few days.  All of us were grubby and happy to be in nature, so it really didn’t matter how greasy our hair was or how dirty our fingernails got.

Here is a review of the six products I received this month:

 

RUFFIAN Nail Lacquer
RUFFIAN Nail Lacquer

Ruffian Nail Lacquer – Relic: This silver metallic nail polish has a thick and streak-free formula that only requires one to two coats at the most.  This color makes me want to slip on a LBD, some strappy sandals and drink a mojito or martini at The Union in Kalamazoo.

 

 

RUFFIAN Dressing Room Nail Lacquer Remover Towelettes
RUFFIAN Dressing Room Nail Lacquer Remover Towelettes

RUFFIAN Dressing Room Nail Lacquer Remover Towelettes: The best thing about this product is that it smells wonderful.  Gone is that harsh alcohol smell of acetone, replaced with a light, subtle and sultry perfume.  These individually wrapped towelettes make it easy to travel, and you’ll look great while you’re taking off your nail polish when using these sleek black cloths.

 

 

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Eyeliner
Cynthia Rowley Beauty Eyeliner

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Eyeliner – Silver: I absolutely love a touch of sparkle around my eyes, so this subtle and effective eyeliner is great.  The color and shimmer is perfect for summer to keep my makeup nice and light, but I can also see myself wearing this in the winter during holiday parties to add some twinkle to my outfit.

 

 

Harvey Prince Hello Body Cream
Harvey Prince Hello Body Cream

Harvey Prince Hello Body Cream: This body cream is made with a combination of olive oil, coconut oil, almond oil and mixed with shea butter.  The scent is a clean mix of citrusy lemon and mandarin extracts that definitely help perk you up in the morning.  I found that while this formula is light and smells nice, it doesn’t give me the silky smooth feeling I love when putting lotion on after a shower.

 

100% Pure Gingerade Shower Gel (Honey Cream Wash)
100% Pure Gingerade Shower Gel (Honey Cream Wash)

100% Pure Gingerade Shower Gel (Honey Cream Wash): First, I love the scent of this sweet and spicy blend of herbs, green tea and seaweed body wash, and even more than that I L-O-V-E that this gel is all natural and free from sulfates, dyes, artificial fragrances and other non-natural components.  However, when I squeezed the wash onto my loofah I was disappointed that the soap would not sud up and I felt like I had to use a lot of body wash just to get clean.

 

Marcelle New Age 8 in 1 Power Serum
Marcelle New Age 8 in 1 Power Serum

Marcelle New Age 8 in 1 Power Serum: This is an extremely light and non-greasy formula that is paraben free and leaves my face looking fresh and radiant.  It does a ton of good stuff to your skin like reducing the look of wrinkles, providing you with amino acids that help keep elasticity, and keeping your face nice and hydrated.  It also cleared up some blemishes quickly, and for that I love this product. 

 

Which products would you like to try and how are you powering-up this summer?  Answer in the comments below.

Author:

I have circumnavigated the globe, I have lived overseas, and now I'm back in America about to marry my beautiful fiance, Renee. Follow our adventures in travel, getting healthier with Plexus and starting a brand new life.

Leave a Reply

