Posted in Uncategorized

Lighten Up with August’s Birchbox

Did you know that August is generally the hottest month of the year in Houston, Texas?  I moved here about a week ago, and I’m definitely adjusting to the heat (the average temp. being over 100*F every. single. day.) as best as I can by mostly hopping from one air-conditioned spot to another.

Thankfully, Birchbox’s theme this month is Lighten Up, and their blog and magazine gives helpful and fun tips on how to stay cool, relax in the heat and kick back for the rest of summer.  This month I received five products that helped me do just that:

Neil George Shampoo
Neil George Shampoo

Neil George Shampoo: Created by stylists Amanda George and Neil Weisberg, this shampoo is packed with antioxidants such as Indian Gooseberry and Vitamin C, leaving my hair with a shiny (not greasy) coat.  What I was most surprised about was how much volume this shampoo gave my hair!  This is definitely some of the best shampoo I’ve tried in a long time, although I noticed that along with the volume it also left my strands a bit dry.  Added bonus: the crisp and clean scent that has my hair smelling fresh all day.

Neil George Conditioner
Neil George Conditioner

Neil George Conditioner: Partner to the shampoo above, I love this equally as much.  This also adds body (although not as moisturizing as I would have hoped) and has an amazing scent of grapefruit and sage.  Both the shampoo and conditioner are safe for color-treated hair.

 

 

ModelCo Bronzer
ModelCo Bronzer

ModelCo Bronzer: Even though it’s generally too hot to be outside in the Texas sun, I still want that sun-kissed glow of summer.  Perfect solution: this multipurpose pressed bronzing powder.  This bronzer has a hint of shimmer that doesn’t overwhelm your face and is also PETA certified so you know it’s cruelty-free.  This powder glides on smoothly and is great for any skin tone and type.

 

Dr. Jart+ Dis-A-Pore Beauty Balm
Dr. Jart+ Dis-A-Pore Beauty Balm

Dr. Jart+ Dis-A-Pore Beauty Balm: Honestly, if there’s anything I hate about summer it’s makeup melting off of my face.  I want a clear and even complection, but most foundations and even BB creams are bothersome in the extreme heat.  This product, however, does not rub off on your shirt when you sweat, it makes your pores appear smaller, makes fine lines disappear, and hides blemishes.  Can I get a hallelujah!  As if all that wasn’t enough it’s also paraben-free, hypoallergenic and has SPF 30 in the formula to protect your face.  It’s safe to say that I L-O-V-E this product and have gotten compliments on my skin every time I’ve used the sample.

Catherine Malandrino Style de Paris
Catherine Malandrino Style de Paris

Catherine Malandrino Style de Paris: I wasn’t head over heels for this fragrance, although the lightness of the scent is a good match for the summer season.  It has hints of mandarin, ruby-red grapefruit, pear, sweet jasmine and fresh gardenia, but it doesn’t have enough depth for me.  It is light and airy and too sweet for my taste, and definitely could have used more amber and musk to round it out.

 

So, those were the five samples in my August Birchbox!  I definitely felt that these were great products for the hottest month, and they will definitely come in handy when autumn hits and I’m craving a bit of that summer heat.  Which products would you try?

Author:

I have circumnavigated the globe, I have lived overseas, and now I'm back in America about to marry my beautiful fiance, Renee. Follow our adventures in travel, getting healthier with Plexus and starting a brand new life.

Leave a Reply

